» Ftp Download! Cracked Software/software Cracks/dongle
Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:33 pm by 

Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:22 pm by 

Sun Apr 28, 2013 10:58 am by 

Sun Apr 28, 2013 9:07 am by 

» Paulin.Research.Group.V2011(contain FEPIPE6.5,Nozzle8.5)
Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:20 pm by 

» Paulin.Research.Group.V2011(contain FEPIPE6.5,Nozzle8.5)
Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:59 am by 

» Carlson SurvCE v2.52
Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:40 am by 

Navigation

RSS feeds

Yahoo! 
MSN 
AOL 
Netvibes 
Bloglines 

Karen Carpenter: The influence of the Drummer who Sang

Admin
    Admin

Karen Carpenter: The influence of the Drummer who Sang

Post by Admin on Tue May 04, 2010 3:21 am

Karen Carpenter is best remembered for her rich, deep, dark and smooth voice which owned the radio waves throughout the 70’s. Her voice was one of the most recognizable voices of a generation. But, Karen was also a drummer. Not just a drummer but a self taught accomplished drummer. Her interest in drums first came in 1964 when she joined the high school marching band. She played the glockenspiel but was quickly inspired by the drumming finesse of bandmate Frankie Chavez. At home she was using chopsticks and barstools as her drum kit until her parents bought her one.

This was only the very beginning of Karen’s career in which she became very well known in her early days for singing and playing the drums. It was a rare sight in 1969/1970 to see a young feminine looking lady playing the drums and than add the fact that she also sang at the same time contributed to Karen Carpenter being the buzz around the music scene in the early years of her recording career. As the years went by Karen placed first in Playboy's reader poll for Best Rock Drummer of 1975, thus pioneering the way for a plethora of female drummers to follow.

Karen Carpenter has been the inspiration for tens of thousands of female drummers on the music scene. This is a major accomplishment. She was what many would call a trailblazer and trendsetter.